The Lafayette (The Laff)
"Opened in 1849 and originally named Grant's Hotel, The Laff is one of the oldest institutions in Ottawa:
- Older than the city of Ottawa which was named in 1855
- Older than the Chateau Laurier, which opened in 1912
- Older than the original Parliament buildings, built in 1859 and burned in the Ottawa Fire of 1916 -- completion of new buildings in 1927
Over the years we've been known as Grant's Hotel, The Exchange Hotel, The Bodega, The Salmon Arms, The Johnson House, and The Dominion House. In 1936, they became Chateau Lafayette, and erected the iconic sign -- now believed to be the oldest neon sign in the city.
It's also rumoured that a young Queen Victoria once walked through the halls. Many famed persons have graced us with their presence over the years, including Dan Aykroyd and the ever-elusive William Hawkins."
(from The Lafayette Website)